If You Like Sherlock Holmes, Read These Series

I’m a massive fan of Sherlock Holmes, and so I’ve read quite a few mysteries set during the end of the Victorian era. So today I’m going to share my favorite series which remind me of Sherlock Holmes.

I actually did this as a video over on my Youtube channel (if you haven’t subscribed already, please do!). I’ve been thinking recently about how not to overwhelm myself while still trying to upload twice a week on my blog and once a week on my Youtube channel. In order to save myself some time, I’ll do doing a normal post Saturday on my blog as well as a video post on Youtube on Saturday evening, but on Wednesday my post will be kind of a written version of my Youtube video from the previous Saturday. So I’ll share my video and then write the same sentiments in words. I hope that makes sense…

Basically, if you still want to read my blog and not watch my videos, you can still get the same content and skip over the video, or you can watch my video a few day early and skip the written post if you prefer videos. It takes some work away from me while also giving variance for my followers.

Okay, enough blathering. Let’s get into the books!

Murder on Astor Place (Gaslight Mystery, #1)

Series name: The Gaslight Series by Victoria Thompson

Years of Publication: 1999 – Current

Books in series (2020): 23

First Book: Murder on Astor Place

Most Recent Book: Murder on Pleasant Avenue

Setting: New York City, 1890’s

Description: Follows midwife Sarah Brandt and Police Sergeant Frank Malloy as they solve murder mysteries.

The Alienist (Dr. Laszlo Kreizler, #1)

Series name: Dr. Laszlo Kreizler Series by Caleb Carr

Years of Publication: 1994 – Current

Books in series (2020): 2

First Book: The Alienist

Most Recent Book: The Angel of Darkness

Setting: New York City, 1890’s

Description: Psychologist Laszlo Kreizler works were a group of intelligent people to solve twisted murders. (3rd book set to be released in 2022.)

The Cater Street Hangman (Charlotte & Thomas Pitt, #1)

Series name: The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series by Anne Perry

Years of Publication: 1979 – 2017 (?)

Books in series: 32

First Book: The Cater Street Hangman

Most Recent Book: Murder on the Serpentine

Setting: 1880s, London, England

Description: Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, a wife and husband duo, solve complex murder mysteries together.

Murphy's Law (Molly Murphy Mysteries, #1)

Series name: Molly Murphy series by Rhys Bowen

Years of Publication: 2001 – 2017 (?)

Books in series: 17

First Book: Murphy’s Law

Most Recent Book: The Ghost of Christmas Past

Setting: 1890s, New York City

Description: Recent Irish immigrant Molly Murphy solves murders with the help of police detective Daniel Sullivan.

Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor (Jane Austen Mysteries, #1)

Series name: The Jane Austen Series by Stephanie Barron

Years of Publication: 1996 – 2016 (?)

Books in series: 13

First Book: Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor

Most Recent Book: Jane and the Waterloo Map

Setting: 1810s, England

Description: The fictionalized diary of Jane Austen as she solves perplexing mysteries.

A Spy in the House (The Agency, #1)

Series name: The Agency by Y.S. Lee

Year of Publication: 2009 – 2014

Books in series: 4

First Book: A Spy in the House

Most Recent Release: Rivals in the City

Setting: 1850’s, London, England

Description: Young orphan Mary Quinn works undercover for The Agency, an organization working to solve mysteries.

The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell, #1)

Series name: Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series by Laurie R. King

Years of Publication: 1994 – Current

Books in series: 16 (17th coming out 2021)

First Book: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

Most Recent Release: Riviera Gold

Setting: Post WWI, England (mostly)

Description: A retired Sherlock Holmes meets young intelligent Mary Russell and she becomes his assistant. They later marry and solve mysteries together.

So, there you have it! Have you ever read any of these on this list? Do any of them look interesting to you? Let me know your thoughts down in the comments, follow my blog for more musings and, as always,

Best wishes in your life full of adventure,

Madame Writer

7 thoughts on “If You Like Sherlock Holmes, Read These Series

  1. I LOVE Sherlock Holmes. I was actually wondering last night what book I should read next and thought I’d check out your blog to see what you were writing about. Excited to go to the bookstore later with this list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s